Posted in Decorating, Furniture, Homewares, Uncategorized

Loving the upcycling

There’s nothing I love more than having a project. And if that project is an upcycling one, there’s really no stopping me. That rush you get when you find that perfect piece is exhilarating and makes you a true outlaw.

That’s probably why, whenever I’m out and about, I’m always looking, even if I just popped out for some milk. And if you’ve read my Cowhide blog  you’ll know that you really never know what you’ll find where.

I do, however, believe there’s a real talent in being able to see beauty in something that looks like it’s on its last legs. Or one step further, being able to see a different use for something; what I call product upcycling. Now, there have been many failed projects that just didn’t quite work; upcycling isn’t simply coating an item in paint, it’s about seeing the inner beauty and endless possibilities.

I’ve dabbled with a number of courses, trying to teach myself the tricks of the trade. My favourite so far is upholstery. I wish I had enough space for all my finds and the finds I left behind. Until recently my husband had named our conservatory the ‘chair graveyard’. I must admit, but don’t tell him, I had become a bit obsessed. And why not? My first project was a success, my second was even better. And the third is going to be for a very patient friend who believes in my talents.

One of the best ways for looking at what’s on trend, and what floats your boat had to be Pinterest. It’s such a great site for inspiration and thinking outside the box. And look at this beaut!

Here’s to a very patient husband, him letting me be creative; oh and taking over the house with my projects!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

